• The Level 3 Award in Assessing Competence in the Work Environment is for practitioners who assess the demonstration of competence in a work environment using the following assessment methods: observation/examining work products/oral questioning and discussion/use of witnesses/learner statements/Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL).

Funding and bursaries

Students if you’re aged over 19 you may be eligible for free tuition depending on the course you want to study, your existing qualifications and your financial circumstances. For more information email info@totton.ac.uk or call 023 8087 4874.

Advanced Learner Loans are available for students who are aged 19 or over. Repayments do not begin until the course is completed and you are earning £25,000 or over. Eligible learners will be enrolling on a level 3 or above course and are a UK or EU national. For further information, visit gov.uk/advanced-learner-loan.

Entry requirements

Candidates must have a qualification equivalent to the level they will be assessing (for example if they want to assess up to level 5 then they must have a level 5 qualification themself in that specific area; this will mean they can assess level 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 in that area).

What will I learn?

The Level 3 Assessor qualifications provide a pathway for learners to understand assessment and if required, qualify as an assessor. Learners who wish to achieve these units could be assessing competence or non-competence based learning, knowledge or skills. They will select the units and qualifications that meet the requirements of what they are assessing


Learners may also choose to take one of the following related qualifications:

City & Guilds Level 3 and 4 NVQ in Learning and Development and Learning and Development Mini Awards (6318)

City & Guilds Level 3 Delivery of Basic Skills (8375)

City & Guilds Level 3 and 4 Award in Preparing to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector (6302)

City & Guilds Level 3 and 4 Certificate in Teaching in the Lifelong Learning Sector (6304)

City & Guilds Level 5 Diploma in Teaching in the Lifelong Learning Sector (6305


There are no exams only coursework.
The first unit is knowledge only consisting of 8 outcomes relating specifically to the assessment process. Candidates will then choose either the ‘Competence in the Work Environment’ unit (for assessors who visit their learners in their workplace to observe them) or the ‘Award in Assessing Vocationally Related Achievement’ unit (this is generally for teachers in a classroom). It is rare for candidates to require all three units although it can be achieved

Career and Progression

These qualifications can help candidates to progress in their career as a:

Qualified Assessor


Contact a tutor

023 80874 874

Email us